Nepal is a stunningly diversified nation with some of the most breathtaking mountain scenery in the world. The 2,400-kilometer-long Himalaya is the world’s tallest mountain range. There are 866 identified mountains in Nepal, with Mount Everest being the tallest and most notable.

These enormous mountain summits are scattered around the nation, enjoying varied topography and cultural value. People from all over the world travel to Nepal in order to see magnificent mountains. We have collected a list of Nepal’s tallest mountains.

Mount Everest

Mt. Everest is situated in Sagarmatha National Park and is a component of the Mahalangur Himalayan range. The peak rises to a height of 8848.86 meters and is shared between Nepal and Tibet. In 1953, Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay Sherpa successfully scaled the summit for the first time ever.

The Everest region is one of the most well-liked trekking areas in Nepal. The allure of the trek to Everest Base Camp comes from its towering colossal, ever-perpendicular peaks and the daring exploits of great mountaineers

Mount Everest, the tallest mountain in the world (29,029 feet), is located in the Solu and Khumbu diverse districts, which is rightly famous for its exotic Sherpa communities, monasteries, flora, and fauna.

Mount Kanchenjunga

Kanchenjunga is located in Nepal and shares territory with Sikkim, India, and Nepal. It is the third-highest mountain in the world but ranks second in Nepal and first in India. Interestingly, Kanchenjunga is the only mountain to hold all three positions

The fact that Kanchenjunga was the highest mountain until 1849 is another amazing truth about it. So in a sense, it has actually been the tallest peak in the world in the past. Kanchenjunga is the world’s third-highest mountain, with an elevation of 8,586 meters (28,169 feet).

One of Nepal’s most revered mountains, Kanchenjunga is thought to be the home of the gods by the locals. The Sikkimese people hold the mountain in high regard because they see it as an embodiment of God.

Mount Lhotse

Lhotse, the fourth-highest mountain in the world and the third-highest in Nepal is a part of the Everest Massif. With a height of 8516 meters, Lhotse is a well-liked substitute for Mount Everest and can be reached by the same method. 

The south peak is the meaning of the Tibetan name Lhotse. Occasionally, Lhotse is wrongly considered to be the southernmost summit of the Everest massif. There are two subsidiary peaks in addition to the main summit: Lhotse Shar, which is located directly east of the main summit, and Nuptse, a tall peak on the mountain’s west ridge.

Lhotse wasn’t given any serious consideration until Everest had finally been scaled. It was when two Swiss climbers, Fritz Luchsinger, and Ernest Reiss, made the first ascent of Lhotse in 1956.

Makalu Himal

The fifth-highest peak in the world is Mount Makalu with an elevation of 8,463 metres. Only 14 miles east of Mount Everest, you can see this remote summit. Much though this mountain’s size alone is amazing, its unique structure—a perfect pyramid with four angular ridges—makes it even more spectacular. 

Due to the difficulty of the ascent, only five of the first sixteen attempts to get to the top were successful. Makalu, which in Tibetan means “Great Black,” refers to the granite that is frequently visible on the mountain’s summit. 

It was given the name “Maha Kala” in Sanskrit. The mountain’s name is Shiva after the Hindu deity. The peak is called “Kumba Karna” in the local dialect, which translates to the mythological big brother of Ravana from the Hindu epic Ramayana.

Cho Oyu Himal

The sixth-tallest peak in the world and the fifth-highest mountain in Nepal is called Cho Oyu, which means “Goddess of Turquoise” in Tibetan. Cho Oyu is an 8,201-meter mountain in Eastern Nepal’s Khumbu area. The enormous mountain is located on the boundary between Tibet and Nepal, roughly 20 kilometers to the west of Mount Everest.

Because of its softly steep northwestern route, Cho Oyu is considered by most climbers to be the most secure eight-thousand-meter peak to summit. There aren’t many technically challenging spots on this peak, and avalanches are unlikely.

The mountain also includes the glaciated High Pass, which is mostly used for trading by Tibetan and Nepali businesspeople. You can always observe long caravans of mules and yaks on the pass.


Dhaulagiri I is the sixth-highest peak in Nepal and the world’s seventh-highest mountain. It is a portion of the Dhaulagiri massif that extends from the Kali Gandaki River to Bheri. The massive Himalayan mountain known as Dhaulagiri, or “White Mountain,” rises to a height of 8,167 meters in north-central Nepal.

The thirty-mile-long crest of Dhaulagiri gives shape to the chaotic topography of winding ridges, glaciers, and ice falls. Several peaks rise in the form of pyramids along the main crest. These summits are numbered from east to west and four of them rise above 25,000 feet.

Mustang and Dolpo, two regions that are under the peak’s rain shadow, are a result of Dhaulagiri. It is dry and parched in Mustang, with corroded hills and desert-like scenery, as a result of the Dhaulagiri peak blocking rain showers. 

Mount Dhaulagiri, in contrast to many other mountains, is located fully within Nepal, not on Nepal’s boundaries with any other nations.